Black Journalists Recognize 2015 Media Award Winners

Black Journalists Recognize 2015 Media Award Winners

Works published by the Denver Urban Spectrum were recognized at the Colorado Association of Black Journalists at its annual media awards and scholarship banquet held at the Denver Marriott City Center on Aug. 14. The event emceed by CBS46 anchor and former CABJ president Gloria Neal, awards scholarships to aspiring African American journalists and recognizes the talents and contributions of CABJ members in the areas of print, television and radio as well as public relations and the lifetime achievement.

CABJ is the Denver-based chapter of the 3,500 member National Association of Black Journalists, marking its 40-year anniversary this year.  NABJ founding member Sandra Dillard was recognized with a standing ovation as a pioneer during the banquet.

CABJ also recognizes exemplary coverage of Colorado’s African American community with the Scribes in Excellence (SIE) award, in which the Denver Urban Spectrum was recognized four times. Tamara Banks was recognized for the May 2015 cover story, “Black Lives Matter in South Sudan.” Charles Emmons was honored for January 2015 cover story, “Duane Taylor: Saved for the Next Level.” Photographer Lorenzo Dawkins was recognized for his images that accompanied the cover story on Taylor and for the Sept. 2014 cover story, “Racing to Advance Our Future.”

The SIE awards were also presented to CBS4’s Rahel Solomon, Brian Maass, Bill Masure and Kevin Hartfield, Mark Ackerman; 9News’ Byron Reed, Nelson Garcia and TaRhonda Thomas; Denver Post writers Noelle Phillips, Monte Whaley, Lisa Kennedy, John Wenzel, Colleen O’Connor, Mary Stevens, Terry Frei; and KOA radio’s Jerry Bell.

Denver Post theatre critic Lisa Kennedy was recognized as Print Journalist of the Year. CBS4 morning reporter Rahel Solomon was honored as Broadcast Journalist of the Year. The Gomez Howard Group won twice – Principal Jeff Howard was recognized as Public Relations Professional of the Year and the firm received the SIE award for Campaign of the Year for Destination Health 5K, presented by the Center for African American Health.

N’Dea Carter, a sophomore at the Community College of Denver (CCD), received a matching scholarship. Dr. Everett J. Freeman, president of CCD, was in attendance to present her the award.

CABJ officers include Gabrielle Bryant, president; Julius Vaughns, vice president of professionals and treasurer; and Danielle Nelson, secretary.